Is it wrong that I want to spend time with my children?

This seems like an odd question, but with the influx of (very welcome) relatives over the past few weeks I’ve had some time to myself. Which has been lovely.

But you know, for the first time in ages I am not bone-tired. I have a to-do list which is long, but not too long.

And all I want to do is eat, sleep and play with BabyBoy and BabyGirl.

I want to go for a walk at toddler pace. Nip into a shop with only 1 or 2 things to buy and spend most of the trip chatting to the kids (it’s still largely a one-way conversation!) about things we see on the shelves. Pop down to the lake and feed the fish.

Yet I feel like, with this rare me-time, I should be doing something else.

Heck, I probably should be working. Or resting. Or something intellectually stimulating.

But I don’t want to. And I feel guilty.

Damn this maternal guilt.

3 thoughts on “Is it wrong that I want to spend time with my children?

  1. Shannon

    I don’t think it is wrong that you want to spend your me time with your children, and not do anything else. Hell I feel like that all the time! I feel the same as you often, I should be doing this, or that. But honestly if you have the time now to just relax and hang out with your children do it. Like my aunt always tells me they don’t stay small forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

