Amnesia

Once you (or your partner) gets pregnant you’ll hear a lot about ‘baby brain’ – not having babies on the brain, but the ability of pregnancy to make the most rational and logical of us absent-minded and forgetful.

But there is another side to baby brain – selective amnesia. This is (in my case at least) the body’s amazing way of blocking out memories of the more uncomfortable aspects of pregnancy, and those first sleep-deprived, battered newborn months.

Nine months after BabyGirl and BabyBoy were born, my brain is telling me that I could do it all again. I suspect it is some biological means of ensuring humans continue to reproduce. But I must remember, it was hard. I cried a lot. I was in a lot of pain. And if I did do it again, I’d be doing it with two toddlers to look after as well….

Leave a Reply

