‘Double trouble’

It’s a phrase heard over and over when people find out that you’re expecting or have twins: ‘double trouble’.

Personally I find it incredibly annoying. Any humour (is it meant to be humorous?) is lost on an expectant mum of twins. I would smile wanly when someone said that to me in my pregnant state, and then cry at home to Multidaddy – expecting twins was enough of a shock without everyone saying it was going to be awful.

Would you go up to a expectant mum of a singleton and go, ‘Wow, you’re going to have trouble?’ No? So what makes twin mummies fair game?

The irony is if trouble means work, in those first few weeks it often feels like trouble squared. If your reserves are depleted when you give birth to one baby, they are (probably) lower when you have two, and not only that, in your depleted state you then have to look after two newborns.

And when you have two children who are sick or jet lagged, again, it’s not double, it’s more than double. Although that’s not limited to twins; I should imagine (and I can only imagine) that parents of two young children of similar ages would say the same.

So, double trouble? Nope, more than double, thanks.

However, those troublesome days are now few and far between. As the months have passed with BabyBoy and BabyGirl trouble has been outweighed by smiles, giggles, hugs, and the unbelievable cuteness of having two babies flinging themselves on you for cuddles, two babies who discover early on that they have a sibling to play with (BabyBoy and BabyGirl are hilarious when they play peek-a-boo with each other), two babies who can entertain each other while mummy has a cup of tea…

So let’s stand up to the phrase ‘double trouble’. It’s inaccurate, rude and labels two little children as something to be regretted rather than celebrated. I fully admit that having twins was not in my life plan, that I was scared witless when I found out I was having them, that there were occasions when I looked at singleton mums rather wistfully. But I would never say ‘double trouble’ to others, before out of politeness and now because I know it’s simply not true.

Leave a Reply

