The Grandparent Files: Disappointment

Regular readers of this blog will know that my mother-in-law and I have our differences. However, this post isn’t one of my usual vents, but more of a musing.

Before I had children, I had an idealistic view of how the grandparents would be involved. Having lived overseas from my own grandparents, I hoped for a more ‘normal’ life for my own children – when the grandparents would be near enough to swing by, give me a hand with the children, take them out for special bonding time etc.

Well, life hasn’t worked out like that. I’m now overseas from my own parents. Multidaddy’s parents don’t see eye to eye with us on child-rearing. I’m nervous and on edge when they’re around.

But most of all I’m disappointed.

Disappointed that I’m far away from my own parents. Disappointed that they don’t make more of an effort to come and see us (they expect us to travel to them – no easy task with two one year olds). Disappointed that they’re getting on and don’t have the energy to cope with BabyBoy and BabyGirl when they do see them.

They keep telling us to ‘come home’ – that it’s our fault that we’re away. But it’s not that simple – for work it’s better for us to be here, and we have a good life.

I guess I never pictured my own parents being unable or unwilling to put their grandchildren first…..and yet rationally I know that there is no reason why they should.

8 thoughts on “The Grandparent Files: Disappointment

  1. Pingback: Parenting

  2. Loy

    Wow. I’m on the other side of that grandparent fence…I’m the grandma! My only grandson is 11 months old and if my daughter and her family moved overseas, I’d probably sell my house and go with them! LOL Seriously, though, I’m so sorry that you are having such problems with your g-parents. Good luck.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Grandparent Files – A Pinch of Salt | afterninemonths

  4. Pingback: Ten Thoughts Tuesday 4 | afterninemonths

  5. Pingback: Ten Thoughts Tuesday 5 | afterninemonths

  6. Pingback: The Grandparent Files: Goldilocks and the Mama Bear | afterninemonths

  7. Pingback: The Grandparent Files: Reaping What You Sow | afterninemonths

Leave a Reply

