Progress or Sexism?

20130326-100614.jpg

Here’s a photo of a UK department store which is selling toy cookware in pink and blue ranges, and which is causing me some conflict.

On the one hand:

Hooray, a retailer that is not afraid to market a ‘girl’s toy’ (and I use that phase very loosely) to boys!

On the other hand:

Why do we need, and should we need, to have two separate ranges clearly aimed at boys and girls?

What do you think? Is this a step in the right direction, sexism and/or simply a marketing ploy to sell double the amount of toys to parents with both boys and girls?

Original photo sourced from this link.

4 thoughts on “Progress or Sexism?

  1. birminghambell

    I really only think about it since we are going to have 2 very soon and that would be a good way for me to know which toy goes to which room instead of putting doubles in one room! Cooking stuff is extra interesting to me too because I can just see our girl in a little pink apron with me and our boy measuring out stuff for me with his blue stuff! Of course if they wanted to do other colors instead of the blue and pink-whatever! Maybe I’m just into cliche’ stuff! I’ve bought them the same outfits in pink and blue to wear together and then again I’ve also bought them both blue outfits to wear knowing I will have Harper in pig tails so people know she’s not another boy haha! After reading this post it’s clear I’m indecisive as to what the heck I think, but I have a free pass since I’m pregnant and get to be crazy.

    Reply
    1. multimummy Post author

      I do the whole pink-and-blue for ease of sorting too! Especially when we buy one of each thing for each twin. I wonder when I should stop that…?

      Reply
  2. 5kidswdisabilities

    I so completely agree! I think the trend started when parents were able to find out the sex of their child before birth. When my son was born upteen years ago, we didn’t know if he was going to be a girl or a boy. We outfitted the nursery with yellows and greens, and lots of Winnie the Pooh. The clothes could be used by either sex, so I used them again for my daughter. That is not the case these days! I think it is a marketing ploy so parents will have to buy another whole nursery set, wardrobe and toys if their child is another sex. BIG bucks! But parents do it as though it is expected…

    Reply
    1. multimummy Post author

      So do grandparents, aunties, uncles, friends….looking at our baby gifts it’s amazing how much pink and blue we received. Guess that money really is rolling in…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

