Bump-envy

As BabyBoy and BabyGirl’s first birthday approached I found myself thinking, maybe I do want another child (or another set of twins).

And now, as BabyBoy and BabyGirl
hit 16 months, I am going through a severe case of bump-envy (in the nice sense of ‘envy’).

This is an amazing turnaround for me. I had a tough pregnancy. The newborn stage was terrifying. I had post-natal depression.

I could do it, with lots and lots of help. But I’m not sure how fair that would be. We’re already very lucky to have two babies. And cliched as it sounds, I really really do love having twins now.

To add to the confusion, part of me, a very small perhaps-not-entirely-rational part of me, really wants to experience carrying one baby. Maybe then, this part of me whispers, maybe then I won’t have such a tough pregnancy, maybe then I’ll glow like you’re ‘supposed’ to.

And that, I know, is in itself not a good reason to try and bring another child into this world. Pregnancy is only nine months but, as this blog title emphasizes, there’s the whole ‘after nine months’ that follows…

Still, I’m stunned that I’m even half-contemplating the idea. 16 months ago it would have been a definite no.

5 thoughts on “Bump-envy

  1. Valerie

    Aside from the twin part, I totally understand! It’s hard to know when the best time to have another is. What does your husband say? Have you told him you’re contemplating pregnancy? 🙂

    Reply
  2. wingsaseagles40

    At about 14 months after having my son I started wanting another. And after a natural family planning miscalculation, I found I was expecting when he was 16 months, which makes the baby due just after his 2nd birthday. This seems perfect now because he is talking in sentences and has learned to behave, is potty trained and is pretty good at playing on his own. But I don’t know what it is actually going to look like until it happens 🙂 I did have two at 16 months apart, and that was a little tough between having two kids who cannot communicate verbally and potty training while toting a baby…and it took months before taking them both out by myself wasn’t way difficult (mostly b.c of potty training though, where do you put a baby down to pick up a toddler?).

    Reply
    1. multimummy Post author

      No apology needed! If you’ve done two 16 months apart am sure you’ll find two 2 years apart absolutely fine! 2 years is a lovely gap too.

      Hmm, potty-training twins…can’t say I’m looking forward to that one…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

