My Mother’s ‘Fat Talk’

It’s one of the most pivotal things you can model for your children – if you want them to love their bodies, you’ve got to love your own.

At least in front of your kids.

When I was a child, my mother didn’t believe in diets. Or if she did, she didn’t tell us children.

When I was a child, my mother never had low fat or diet foods in the house. Or if she did, she hid them from us children.

When I was a child, my mother never talked about wanting to lose weight. Or if she wanted to, she didn’t tell us children.

When I was a child, my mother’s mantra when we talked about body types (she never brought it up herself) was ‘Slim is fine. Skinny is not’.

And I truly believe that this was a big factor in keeping my own body image positive throughout my childhood.

Thank you mum.

Leave a Reply

