Don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone

Now I can hear ‘Big Yellow Taxi’ in my head. But I digress.

I never knew the awesomeness of my younger body, until pregnancy and aging caught up with me.

Before this time, I didn’t really think about my body. It just was. The only time it entered my consciousness was when clothes / shoes were too big (I’m a short person, the vast majority of clothes are made for people taller than me). Didn’t think about my diet, didn’t worry about exercise. It was all naturally just being.

When people got hung up on their bodies, I couldn’t really enter into the conversation. I just didn’t get why it was such a big deal.

Until one day, the lack of movement that comes with sitting down at a desk all day + getting older + a multiple pregnancy = very very obvious that leaving it to ‘nature’ was not going to work anymore.

Now, I actively eat more healthily. I make time to actually do exercise. And I can talk and talk and talk about body image, stretch marks, diet, exercise…

I am slowly, slowly beginning to accept that my body has changed. And there’s nothing I can do about it. It’s just a natural part of life – now I actively need to think about my body, and take care of it.

‘Don’t it always seem to go

That you don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone….’

Leave a Reply

