The Grandparent Files: My child is not a performing monkey

Sometimes, other adults seem to have no idea how to treat children.

Recently, we met up with some friends. Some of whom have their own children. And my mother-in-law.

I was appalled at how some of the adults felt that it was the job of my children to entertain them.

It is one thing to ask my children if they’d like to say hello or give you a hug. Once. It is not ok to ask them to do so repeatedly because you think it’s cute.

It is not ok to ask my child to repeatedly tell my child to read a specific book because you want to show everyone that she ‘reads’ to herself when my child has said ‘no’.

It not ok to repeatedly tell my child to zoom around on his scooter when he obviously would prefer to sit quietly with mummy.

It is not ok to throw my child into the arms of a stranger because they want a cuddle when my toddler is terrified.

You know what is ok? Engaging with my children on their terms and like a normal human being. Ask them if they would like to play with a specific toy and if they say ‘yes’ then play with them. If they say ‘no’ leave them be. How you you like it if I came to your house and forced you to sing for my edification? And grandma, it is not the job of my children to entertain visitors. That’s your job, and, because I understand how polite society works, perhaps my job. It is not the job of a two year old.

My children are not performing monkeys.

And really, I don’t think monkeys should be performing either.

Let’s have some respect.

2 thoughts on “The Grandparent Files: My child is not a performing monkey

  1. stephhibbitt03

    I so agree with this post. Children are enjoyable to be around but arn’t there for others entertainment.
    As for passing around babies/toddlers to people they don’t know or don’t wish to interact with it should be respected!
    Wise words you have written 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

